Browsing: TradeMark Africa (TMA)

Zambia-Tanzania Trade
  • Zambia-Tanzania Trade Route expansion enjoys the support of senior government, diplomatic, and development sector officials. 
  • The Nakonde/Tunduma border is one of the busiest entry/exit points for cargo in and out of Zambia.
  • The design reviews for Nakonde OSBP were finalised over the last year

The Government of Zambia and TradeMark Africa (TMA) have entered into a Partner Support Agreement (PSA) to upgrade the Nakonde One Stop Border Post, a key Zambia-Tanzania Trade Route.

Funded by the UK government, the $7.7 million (ZMK 197 million) project will improve the flow of goods and people along the Dar es Salaam Corridor, promising to streamline operations and reduce cargo clearance times by more than 100 per cent on both sides of the border.

Clearing cargo trucks crossing the border takes more than two days, leading to significant business delays and losses.

Zambia’s Finance Minister, Situmbeko Musokotwane, and TMA’s CEO, David Beer, launched the …

food exports in East Africa
  • EAGC funding seeks to tackle trade challenges directly by removing trade impediments and building food export capacity in Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.
  • This is across export value chains such as Maize, Beans, Millet, Sorghum, and Rice.
  • Further, a core part of this is to increase the ability of grain producers to export both regionally and to the rest of the world.

Food export competitiveness in East Africa

Through USAID’s Economic Recovery and Reform Activity (ERRA) program, the United States government has awarded a three-year grant worth $2 million to the Eastern Africa Grain Council (EAGC).

The funding is geared towards strengthening the competitiveness of export-oriented staple food value chains in East Africa.

ERRA program is delivered by TradeMark Africa (TMA), with funding from Feed the Future. Via its five-year $75 million program, USAID and TMA are driving transformative trade and investment reforms in the East and Horn of Africa.

This …

Ethiopia-Somalia port dispute
  • The EU is supporting efforts in the Horn of Africa that will boost regional economic integration and trade. 
  • Djibouti’s major trading partner countries include Ethiopia and troubled Somalia.
  • Trade Mark Africa is helping implement a single window system which is already in use across EAC.

The EU has expressed its support for Djibouti’s plan to enhance connectivity within the Horn of Africa, a move that will promote trade with Ethiopia, one of the region’s biggest trade partners.

This collaboration is in sync with the African Alliance for e-commerce, a consortium comprising 18 member countries, dedicated to advancing the Single Window concept. This alignment adheres to the recommendations set forth by international institutions.

A pivotal project within the Alliance is the establishment of a Regional Single Window, designed to seamlessly interconnect all national platforms. The overarching goal is to streamline trade processes, bolstering the competitiveness of African nations on the global …

EABC-TMEA holds a dialogue in Elegu-Nimule OSBP.
  • TradeMark East Africa has rebranded to TradeMark Africa (TMA) and simultaneously officially launched its West Africa operations
  • The organisation now has a presence in fourteen countries in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), including Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Malawi, Zambia, Mozambique, and Ghana 
  • TradeMark has made cumulative investments of over $1.3 billion since 2010 to reduce the time and costs of trading across borders, and to improve the export competitiveness of African businesses

TradeMark East Africa has rebranded to TradeMark Africa (TMA) and simultaneously officially launched its West Africa operations.

Founded in 2010 in Kenya, TMA marks an expansion from its previous core operational area of East Africa and the Horn of Africa to also support countries in West and Southern Africa.

TradeMark Africa now has a presence in fourteen countries in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA): Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), South Sudan, Ethiopia, Somaliland, Djibouti, Malawi, …